I get my energy from the sun!!

The inner workings in the basement:

The pole and rack are in place….solar panels will be going up tomorrow!  (Weather permitting…this is Western NY!)

I’ve mentioned a few ways in which we’ll have to cut back and I always get the same response:  Don’t you wish you could just have conventional electricity?  Truth be told, I do not wish that.  I’m glad that we will have to remain ever mindful of consumption.  The cut backs that I’ve mentioned were #1 Not being able to use a treadmill, #2 Not having Christmas tree lights on 24/7 and #3 Having to decide at the end of the day if the dishes will be cleaned by dishwasher or by hand.  None of those things are make or break in my book.  But again, it brings consumption to the forefront and forces us to decide if something should be done manually or mechanically.  I think that energy consumption is something that is a rare blip in most peoples minds.  It makes me ill to see these homes with the blow up decorations and lights and everything else so cluttered that there is no yard.  I’m sure those people are still good people, they just aren’t thinking of the coal or fuel being burned in some far off power station.  They probably just figure, “Hey I pay my electric bill, who’s business is it how I decorate?”  The real question is, What is the cost down the line in terms of non-renewable energy resources.

Ok, rant over….here’s a bit of excitement: our first housewarming present!  Thanks Suzy!

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in Enviro-rant, New House. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I get my energy from the sun!!

  1. Brenda says:

    Hi,
    I am considering building pretty close to you, in Short Tract. I’m curious what company you are using for your solar equipment – or have you done the research yourself and are assembling the components? Will follow your progress with interest; not much solar around WNY that I know about 🙂

    • linzie2 says:

      Hi Brenda! Great to hear from another solar (to-be!) user! We did our original research through Renovus in Ithaca. They helped us decide how much energy we use and how big the system needed to be. Once we went to our contractor (Fran , who is also my stepfather) with the plans, he became interested. He attended classes, and the installation on our home is the last one that he has to have inspected by the certifying agent before he’s certified on his own. He has tons of construction experience and is very knowledgeable in general. Of course I’d recommend him…he’s doing ours of course! His website is based mostly on Modular homes he does, but he did the full construction on our home and has a lot of experience doing them.
      Thanks for contacting me! Let me know any other questions you have and keep me updated on your plans too!
      ~Linzie

Leave a Reply

