I miss tomatoes….

Here we are in the dead of winter….I feel stuck in a food rut.  Our weekly menu changes, based on the season.  I’m finding myself longing for those late night, still bright out dinners on the grill with tons of fresh produce.

I was fed up with our winter food this week and added 2 summertime meals: Chicken wraps and Chicken Souvlaki Gyros.  Both call for tomatoes…….oh, it’s been so long since I’ve had a tomato!  So I bought a few red-appearing tomatoes on the vine at the store……well, as you may already know, supermarket produce is generally inferior to the backyard variety.  And eating it out of season?  Blech!  Even worse.  I’m not going to lie….the two recipes tasted good….and where enough of a mix up to get me through my normal recipes for awhile.  Ah, but they were not the same.  There was no juicy, sweet, punchy tomatoes in them; instead they were pink, firm with just a hint of what a tomato can be.

I miss tomatoes!!!

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in How does your garden grow?. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I miss tomatoes….

  1. Barbara says:

    I’m so missing tomatoes too! Toward the end of the summer we were getting lots of tomatoes, garlic and basil in our csa baskets and I was making a simply bruschetta quite often. The perfect taste of summer that I miss! I don’t buy out of season tomatoes either. Store bought tomatoes are so often nothing more than the idea of a tomato…looks like one, is supposed to be one, but it sure doesn’t taste like one!

Leave a Reply

