Cold snap!

When Eli got up this morning is was -10 degrees!  No school!

Also, wasted eggs.  I don’t know how long it takes for an egg to freeze at -10, but it’s not long I bet.  (Truthfully, they’re not wasted.  I fried them up tonight and will give them to the kitties tomorrow.)

So with the day off from school, we did a family grocery trip (Love it!) and then Eli worked on the house.  After nap time, we joined him.

Up next, electrical work:

Eli cutting “channels” in the walls to run the electric in:

It seems much ‘homey-er’ there with the dogs around.

Then Eli had to go in the basement and drill up so the channels met.  The kids loved watching and waiting for this to happen!

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in Feathered friends, New House. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cold snap!

  1. Brenda says:

    -15 here, and my school was canceled, but my daughter’s wasn’t (supposedly the only one in Allegany County). My husband and I tried to go to the mill for feed (we get about 800# at a time) but had truck trouble (diesel gel). We planned to get groceries and some hay today also before he went to work. Such a bummer to not complete the plan 🙂 No frozen eggs today but we walked over to the coop several times. I usually let them thaw if they aren’t too bad and we eat them, though I don’t ever put them in the “for sale” dozens!
    What size and how many of each color for the quilt? No promises at this point but I do have lots of fabric.
    How do you affix the outlet boxes, to the plastic structure of the arxx or ?
    B.

    • Eli says:

      Brenda,
      To answer your question, to put in outlets you cut a hole for them in the foam, then screw them into the concrete behind the box. It will be a little more time consuming, but not too bad.

    • linzie2 says:

      I usually thaw and eat the eggs too, but you could see dust on the protruding white part. Yuck! What mill do you use for feed?
      For the quilt I was looking mostly for yellows/oranges that aren’t flowery and I’m cutting the squares 5X5. I think I’m doing pretty good scrounging around for stuff but if you have something outstanding in those colors, let me know!
      We’ll probably be moving in this spring/summer with work left to do. As for outbuildings, we’ll probably put up new once we’re settled. Our current home is about 1/2 mile down the road so if the chickens don’t move along with us, we can easily tend to them until they do.
      ~Linzie

  2. Brenda says:

    Actually that sounds very secure and worth the time. Our old house had a few original outlets that were just kind of propped in the plaster and lathe and they were wobbly and messy. I thought the plastic structure would probably be secure but maybe not always quite where you wanted them to be. Having electric in each room will sure be great. Are you hoping to move in this summer? Will you be able to move any small outbuildings or animal housing? This winter we were able to use a water de-icer for our chickens and sheep. Extension cords are annoying and I will be planning in some strategic ditches for electric the next time I move animal housing! I make a lot of lists for spring during this time of the year 🙂

Leave a Reply

