Digging leeks

The kids and I set off on a foraging adventure yesterday!  Every year we set out to dig leeks (more precisely, every April.  Except this year it didn’t get above freezing in April!)

John was more than happy to set out digging (and sampling!!!) leeks!

The forest was like a sea of green!  We didn’t dig too awful many, just enough for a few favorite recipes.

I’ve heard that fiddlehead ferns are delicious to eat too……these were beautiful but I know nothing of foraging for fiddleheads so I left them be.

Speaking of foraging….once we came up out of the woods, there were violets everywhere!  When I was little, my grandpa taught me that on the back of the flower there is a little sack that you can bite off.  It’s a nice mixture of peppery and sweet.  It’s a trick Summer remembered well, and one that John’s just learning!  I’d love to get a big bunch of violets and make Violet Jam!

And bonus!  The kids wanted to clean the leeks when we got home too!  It was a great little station to set up to give Mama some room to cook dinner, even if I ended up cleaning most of them myself.

P.S.  The bantam hen is hatching out some chicks tonight!  I’m going to go peek in on her right now….more on her tomorrow!!

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in How does your garden grow?, I <3 NY!, Preserving the harvest, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Digging leeks

  1. Brenda says:

    Hi there,
    in the small world category, I was telling my niece about your house and casually asked if she could know you (she is a nurse also). She said she sold you a bantam last year and helped take care of your grandmother (with dialysis). Her name is Amy. Sound familiar? Anyway, those banties are sure good mothers. I have 40 new chicks (full size, mixed breed dual purpose) this year from my hens, 5 Bourbon Red poults so far from the turkeys, and 3 new lambs from my ewes (first time for that for me). Spring!

  2. maxine feingold says:

    how wonderful to have ramps and violets.there were no violets anywhere i looked this year. i wonder what happened !

Leave a Reply

