Surprise!

Um, yeah.  I totally had the wool pulled over my eyes!  I always thought I was un-surprisable.  Not this time!  Man, I love my husband!

So, work has been slow.  I was put on-call for Saturday, meaning I didn’t need to go into work but if it got busy, they’d call and I’d go in.  Score!  We can get work done at the new house!  While I had the kids at dance I got a call from my friend Mamie.  “Can I take you out for your birthday since I forgot earlier in the week?”  (Which she did NOT forget, it was all part of the ploy!)  Her daughter is a regular baby-sitter of ours so I wondered if she could watch our kids along with her younger son.  “No, blah-blah not feeling good + soccer game + more excuses.”  LIES!  Anyway, I came home and mentioned it to Eli and he was into it.  I called my mom and she jumped at the chance to watch the kids.  We had a time set: 6pm drop off.

So up to the new house we went, and work commenced.  Eli did, well, I don’t remember.  But I painted the ceiling in the kids room.  It was nearing 530 and Eli urged me to go.  “Let me just use up the rest of this paint in the closet…..”  Oh boy, he must have been sweating.  Interestingly enough, he had a hard time eating all day…..hindsight had me understanding it was nerves, although I had originally worried he was coming down with something.

I got home around 545 and Eli was already gone with the kids.  I did ponder his punctuality, but didn’t think too much of it.  I did something mundane like laundry or the like and he came home and showered.  Mamie called me.  “Um, we’ll be there at 630 to pick you up!”  I let her know I was just jumping in the shower.  “What?  Uh, um, I mean, I wish I could get ready that fast!” 

630 came and they were here!  I also pondered their punctuality, because even she will admit it’s not her strong suit.  Away we went.  I grilled her more about how her daughter was feeling, what her symptoms were, etc. etc.  (Mamie, sorry I made you lie so much!  You musta been sweating!) 

We got to the restaurant and parked; too far away if you would’ve asked me.  But nothing was amiss in my mind.  I was answering a text as we walked up to the building, and I thought it was funny when Mamie wanted me to walk up the stairs ahead of her.  As we entered the back room I saw my young cousin Harley and thought…….“SURPRISE!”

Man, they got me good!  It was so amazing to walk into that room and see so many loves in my life.  Every single one of my closest friends and family could make it.  They all made that time for me.  I can assure you, there is no feeling as heartwarming as that.

And my amazing husband.  Who does something like this?  I can not believe it.  Still.  All of the planning (with help from my mom, my mother-in-law Suzy, and my sister-in-law Mary and her amazing restaurant) is above and beyond what I could imagine.  I feel loved every day of my life, but this really took the cake.  Eli, I love you so much.

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surprise!

  1. maxine feingold says:

    I’m so happy you were so affected. Good for the support team who planned it all! No pictures?

Leave a Reply

