Getting the garlic in.

Getting the garlic in has been on my To-Do list for a bit, but I had a hard time getting around to it!  It was something that needed to be done in a distinct time frame, but I kept putting it off for some unknown reason.  And I put it off until that most perfect fall day came!  Ah, sunshine and breezes and bright fall days!  That’s when I want to plant my garlic!  It was certainly a much nicer day than last year!

First, we start by soaking the cloves in a sea kelp emulsion:

Here, my favorite (my only!) nephew Fisher and John help out…

We had plenty of curious onlookers….(Oh I love seeing caterpillers.  You know why?  Because John calls them Pata-killers.  Love it!)

(And thankfully this little sweety found a new home this weekend!)

The boys and I weeded the raised beds…

Then we threw down corn so the chickens could finish the job while we went for a walk.

And another thing is crossed off this list!!!  (And hopefully this will be the last planting we do at this homestead!!)

 

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in How does your garden grow?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

