Happy Solstice!

Each year for Winter Solstice, we’ve created an “Eating Tree”.  During Christmastime, we have an indoor tree that’s decked to the nines for our viewing pleasure.  So we take that idea outside too, chosing a tree to garnish with all sorts of goodies for the animals out in the cold.  To give them a little fuel on the shortest day of the year.

The cats misunderstood and thought this was an offering for their already well-fed bellies!

Then we unmolded our ice lantern and suncatcher that we made the day before.  I’ve seen beautiful outdoor decorations using only ice lanterns and candles!  Someday I’ll do it!  These two have cranberries and pine needles frozen into them……we still have one in the freezer that has different colored ice cubes frozen into it as well.

P.S. Let’s keep it real here.  Summer is not throwing her head back in excitement.  She’s totally flipping out.  See, no mom of the year award for me!

 

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in Creations, Holidays, I <3 NY!, Kiddos!, My boy!, My Girl, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Solstice!

  1. maxine feingold says:

    What a nice thing to do! I’m sure the critters will enjoy.

  2. Jen Hakes says:

    I just love Summer when she throws fits:).. It makes me smile. Great idea, maybe the kids and I will do that on break.

    • linzie2 says:

      Thanks for smiling, it makes me smile a little bit too. The rest of the pictures of that suncatcher were blocked by her foot because she was so mad that she didn’t help hang it up. Also everything has melted/washed away because of the rain. Epic fail all the way around, LOL! I’ve got another suncatcher in the freezer I’ll save for if it actually gets cold!!

Leave a Reply

