Natural Laundry Soap

I’m not posting anything that is groundbreaking here folks.  I’ve seen it before (here and here and plenty of other natural family living blogs!).  I’d been thinking of giving it a try for, oh, 3 years or so.  But my sis-in-law brought me all the ingredients, so it was time to just do it!

Homemade Laundry Soap

  • One bar Fels Naptha or Castile Soap
  • One cup Washing Soda
  • 1/2 cup of Borax
  • Hot water

Grate the bar of soap into a saucepan and add 4 cups of water.  Heat over medium until all of the soap is melted.  Fill a 5 gallon bucket half full with hot water.  Add your washing soda and borax, stir until dissolved.  Once the bar soap is melted, add it to your 5 gallon bucket.  Fill the rest of the bucket up and let sit the afternoon or overnight.  After sitting it will become more gel-like.  Use 1/4 cup for a front loader and 5/8 cup for a top loader.  The total cost of 5 GALLONS  of laundry detergent?  $3.  Unbelievable!

*I mixed up only 2 gallons at a time…I wanted something smaller and more manageable in my small laundry room.

*I also poured some soap into an old laundry detergent jug to make dispensing easier.  In hind site I think that next time I’ll pour it in as a liquid and let it gel in the jug….probably be a lot less messy!

 

 

It has been doing a great job all week cleaning mountains of laundry.  Now if it could only put the laundry away…..

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in Creations, Enviro-rant, Handmade Home, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Natural Laundry Soap

  1. barefootnmama says:

    Well, it’s ground breaking to me:) I’ve never tried it and I’ve been looking for the directions..thanks for posting them. I’m with you on the mountains of laundry, it’s been muddy here for the past week and of course I let my kids play in it ( not very smart)
    Hope you had a nice weekend!

  2. Brandy says:

    Thank you for posting this I can’t wait to try it! Any suggestions on a good place to buy the supplies?

  3. Andrea says:

    I know I’m thinking off target here, but that grated soap totally looks like cheddar cheese to me. Maybe I’m just hungry! 😉

  4. Steve says:

    Make sure Eli knows what you are cooking so he doesn’t do a “Taste Test” when you aren’t looking….

  5. Pingback: today | Dark Star Farm

Leave a Reply

