::conversations::

Last night I lay down with John to get him to sleep.  He talked a mile a minute and complained that he didn’t want to be in the dark.  And then silence.  His breath got deeper, but I kept laying there.  It was a dangerous game for me…all previous motivation for Cleaning While The Kids Are In Bed  was gone.  And then:

John:  Mama?

Me:  Hmmmm?

John:  What does jealous mean?

Me:  Well, it’s when one person has something that another person wants.  That person might feel jealous.

John:  (after a thoughtful pause)  Like if one person was on an elk hunt and another person wasn’t there.  But they wanted to be.  That would be jealous?

And there you go.  My boy learning about the world, one hunting story at a time.

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in ::Conversations::, Hunting and other wild-caught activities, My boy! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ::conversations::

  1. Barb in CA says:

    Ahhhh, brings back warm memories of my own children. As a mother, those aha moments were so satisfying. Thank you for sharing your daily adventures. I recently found your blog because of the house you’re building. ( I had not heard of ARXX blocks before and jumped at the chance to find out more about them – and the solar power.) But now I check in daily to read more about you and your family. Somehow, you remind me of me. You are a pioneer – doing things many others will eventually be doing, but you are doing them now, ahead of the pack. When we started homeschooling in 1982, I didn’t know a single soul who was doing it. No one I spoke with had even heard of it back then and everyone thought I was crazy. Of course this was long before the internet, so it was much harder to connect with others who shared your convictions. It isn’t always easy to blaze your own trail in life, but it is certainly most rewarding. I homeschooled my daughter through high school and now she’s a teacher. In May, she will be getting her Master’s degree. Anyway, all that to simply encourage you in your endeavors, and to say thank you for sharing them with us.

    • linzie2 says:

      Barb~
      Many thanks for the kind words!I am smiling ear to ear right now…imagining the you then, the you now, the me now and the me to come. There is nothing better than raising delightful children…it sounds like you did just that!I’m glad to know I’ve got wonderful readers out there!!

      ~Linzie

  2. barefootnmama says:

    awwww…..love this!! Sweet boy:))

  3. Steve says:

    I was picking on Connie today… I asked her if she loved me…. she said yes.. very much… I said.. Nah… You love John… She answered back.. How you anyone NOT love John..

    She had me there…LOL

Leave a Reply

