john’s turn

6:20, Monday morning. John is loudly announcing he is, in fact, NOT going to preschool.
I had an inkling this would be coming. The night before, he had told me he would not go. He’s a bit of a homebody, a shy and loving little boy. But there were periods of excitement and periods of nervousness. So we went along with the plan for preschool. We knew he was ready. He just didn’t know.
That morning, he ate up his ‘special request’ breakfast which was to be a blueberry pie but I made a bit more like a cobbler for time’s sake. There were no complaints.
Photobucket
He went along with getting ready, although did interject at times that he would NOT be going to preschool.
Photobucket
Photobucket
On the way to school, there was a bit of “I don’t wanna…” and “I’m not…” But it had settled down. By then his biggest complaint was that he wished Summer could be dropped off first. (And boy, was she happy she could see him off to school!)
So we got out of the truck with murmurs of “I won’t” but no fuss. I asked if he wanted to walk or be carried and he definitely wanted to walk!
He posed for a few pictures (many less than I can talk Sum into, but hey, I got some!)
Photobucket
He headed in, and picked his name. No more complaints.
Photobucket
Photobucket
We headed in, dropped his backpack and away he went to Circle Time. We were no longer needed.
Photobucket
Summer marveled that he didn’t cry. “I think I’ll cry then” I said. And I did.

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in My boy! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to john’s turn

  1. Susan Jamison says:

    My little honey….
    Nana

  2. Ginny France says:

    So..Cute Love you Honey

Leave a Reply

