trail run.

A few days ago my new sneaks met their first trail run ever. Eli and I, along with a friend and her 11 year old (!) son ran The Ridgewalk and Run. It was an awesome, hilly run…definitely the hardest non-obstacle 5K I’ve come across so far! The up hills were brutal, all of our lungs burned, the downhills were slippery and I vowed to myself to never do this again. But later when the coughs quieted and my skin stopped being rose red, I felt steeped in awesomeness. My October 5K was complete! 5 months of 5king for this mama….bring on November!
Photobucket
I never thought such a statement would leave my lips (or my fingertips, as far as blogging is concerned) but I LOVE RUNNING. Running feels like the most active type of meditation possible. When things get crazy, going for a run definitely clears the air. Today I headed out again, looking to “run away” from my problems. Most of the time your mind thinks mostly of moving forward and what your body is doing. It goes a bit quiet and the to-do list, others hurtful words, and deadlines just melt away. Today, my thoughts couldn’t be escaped, but in turn, I ran my fastest 2 miles ever (don’t worry, it’s not that fast!) So it seems running will get you mental clarity or else physical cleansing! I’ll take either. (And probably seek the other out again tomorrow).

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in Eli, Me, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to trail run.

  1. Jen Hakes says:

    You will be beating me before long, especially if people keep pissing you off. LOL! Great job, you are so awesome!

  2. You are awesome!!! Shhhh Jen is a little competative ( : hahahah, I hops to be running free with my 2 friends next spring ( :

Leave a Reply

