silhouettes

It was a project I’d been meaning to do for a long time. And today, during more unpacking (yes, I’m still doing that!) I found the makings and decided it was time.
I wanted to do fun and funky silhouettes for the kids room. I had already bought the picture frames and bright paper. I found the frames, but the paper….that took a bit of searching. And having been included in the move, it needed a bit of ironing too.
I started by taking the kids pictures in front of a window, then I cropped them so they were the same.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Then I used photoshop and darkened the kids picture to make it more defined. This could probably even be done in Paint by “painting” over the child with black.
Photobucket
Photobucket
I inserted each photo into a Word document and printed. I used the “fast draft” printing option. No sense in using ink on something that I’m just using to trace.
Cut out each child’s silhouette and listen to them Oooooo and Aaaaaaaah! They were so impressed with my cutting skills!
Photobucket
I used glue sticks to adhere the silhouette onto the background paper. They are going to be smooshed in a frame anyway, right?
Photobucket
I love how these look, but I wanted to add their names too. Thanks to Kevin and Amanda for giving me a bazillion fonts to chose from!
Photobucket
I’m so in love with the final product!! I love it when my plans finally come to fruition! (But I do think I’ll be re-doing Summer’s with a ponytail in. Her hair down her back just doesn’t make visual sense. Ah, ever striving for perfection!)

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in Family, Handmade Home, Kiddos!, My boy!, My Girl and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

