gardening how we can

It seemed to make sense to me that once we moved into the new house, we could get started on all those other things we loved to do. Hmmm. Seems this moving and settling takes much more than I had originally thought.
So, we’ve been doing what we can. I planted seed potatoes in 5 gallon buckets….easy to harvest, just dump out! But I planted them too late and ended up with just a few tiny ones.

I went ahead and replanted those tiny potatoes into our newest raised beds. We have two full beds and one bed that is collecting all of our paper waste and kitchen scraps. Experience has shown us that this will make for an amazing planting medium in a year or two!

20121115-213311.jpg
Garlic fills the other beds. I still have more that I had set aside to plant, but there is no room. It will easily be eaten by the next harvest anyway…at least 2 cloves go in each hearty winter dish around here!

20121115-213433.jpg
And last but not least, window herbs. A tiny bit of parsely and basil. Enough to make me feel as though my thumb is still green-ish.

20121115-213649.jpg

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in How does your garden grow?, I <3 NY! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

