greening my home: January

We try really hard to keep the Earth in mind in our daily doings. We compost, we garden, we have solar panels! But it’s the little things in between that can make a world of difference. So I’ve challenged myself to try an institute a time/energy/Earth-saving tidbit every month. 12 changes in a year can mean a lot!!

I struggle, just like everyone, with a neverending pile of dishes. Assessing the dishes, I realized they were, by and large, kids cups. Water with breakfast, water with lunch, maybe milk with dinner and all the necessary sips in between. Why, for water, should there be all these cups!??

I wanted one cup for one day. But how do you (or they) remember which one? I know I have too many things to think about than to remember who had the blue cup and who had the red cup, and was the purple cup actually from today or last week??

Enter the always adaptable Mason jar!

cups 001

cups 002

What kid doesn’t want to decorate their own cup daily!??! And what kid doesn’t want to use that never-ever-allowed-to-touch Sharpie?!? Mine do, mine do! At the end of each day (or beginning of the next, depending on the night!) the cup gets cleaned, all designs and grime and germs and milk leftovers are gone. And we start again tomorrow.

So I’m challenging you to find your own green-ness and share them! Share them with me and everyone! Little changes make big changes! Link to your blog in the comments to tell me what you’re doing! And if you have something you like me to try out, by all means, let me know!

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in Enviro-rant, Kiddos!, Me, My boy!, My Girl, New House and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to greening my home: January

  1. Amy P says:

    Great idea using jars and a sharpie, love it and might have to steal it, lol. For me it wasn’t the dishes, it was the laundry! It was never-ending. We’ve made a new rule that if it doesn’t stink, have stains or look gross it goes back in the drawer. And so far I love it. It’s really cut back on my laundry.

Leave a Reply

