tactile stimulation

Somedays Most days my mind is going a million miles a minute. No lie. I recently saw this picture and could totally relate.
mymind
Anyone else?

Anyway, the constant chatter in the background of kids needs, wants and whatever else goes on does not always help. But sometimes it does. I (only occassionally) am able to look at life through my kiddos eyes. When play clay was the thing to do yesterday, I needed a break. Sitting at the same table, I quickly found my hands kneeding and pressing and designing.

20130117-202013.jpg

And feeling my mind quiet. And seeing my boy smile.

20130117-202003.jpg

We Santa brought some wonderful Sensa-Dough from My Little Otter this year! (I see she’s taking a bit to regroup after the holidays and only has paper straws and sprinkles in stock. I’m so drooling over those too!) Such lovely colors and scents to work your hands over!

20130117-201954.jpg

Coloring, puzzle piecing, handwriting, painting. All of them have the same effect. Intense concentration on what is instead of what will be, what should be, or what was. Mindfulness.
Yep, kids know where it’s at. Until it’s dinner time, then I’m happy for my adult brain. Who knows what we’d eat if it were up to them.

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in Creations, Kiddos!, Me, My boy! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to tactile stimulation

  1. Lisa says:

    I can totally relate to that picture, made me laugh, that is my mind today – organising miss 6 a birthday party, need to make dental appt, errands to run, things to make , a friends house shift ….. All the while my girl chattering her own flow of consciousness in the background. Off to find our play dough!

Leave a Reply

