eight.

I title a lot of my posts with numbers. But this number. Ouch. Cold.
It’s no surprise in Western New York, it seems like single digits are the calling card of January. But it is my first year as a runner. I wouldn’t say I was a runner yet last January, and even if I called myself that, I never ever ran outside.
Things have changed.
20130123-202146.jpg
After taking a chilly Friday off last week, but making up for it with a supremely spring-like Saturday, I hadn’t yet done the deed in the single digits. Today I could wait no longer. It had been long enough since I had ran. And the dreadmill is no longer in my repertoire. So outside it was.
3 miles. 8 degrees.
Coming to the end, I looked over at my shoulders. I wondered why there was so much snow on them. I hadn’t noticed it snowing when I was running. Then I looked and it was on my gloves too. It wasn’t snow, it was my breath condensing and freezing as quickly as it could! Crazy! When I finished, I stepped into the Y and sat down. My legs buzzed with an electric feeling. Surprisingly, it only took a minute to recover. And it wasn’t really that bad along the way either.
Friday, high of 19? I am so there.

About linzie2

Daughter. Wife. Mama. Homebirther. Lactivist. Nurse. Healer. Educator. Aspiring homesteader. Gardener. Tea drinker. Enviromentalist. Seamstress. Photographer. One happy camper!
This entry was posted in I <3 NY!, Me, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to eight.

  1. melanie says:

    I hope you come back soon, I miss hearing about what you and your family are up to and I would love to see some pictures of your house now that it is completed. Thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

